March 16, 2008
Time Warner is Breaking DNS
Time Warner, in their infinite wisdom, have decided to go down the path of Verisign. This morning, I accidentally punched in an invalid domain name and was greeted with a Time Warner page saying "lslakjdflskjdflsdjf.com is invalid." Below are some screenshots.
| Figure 2: the url redirects to Time Warner's page, giving them an opportunity to register the name/make money from advertising |
Many people's programs and scripts rely upon ISPs and registrars not doing things like this. Obviously Time-Warner is not a registrar so their redirect doesn't affect as many people as Verisign's did, but I still find it ludicrous. Thoughts?
Update: Apparently someone else has done a thorough analysis on this already. It looks like TW did a bad programming job here. Something that I'm going to play with in my spare time ;-).
Post a comment







by reid
on October 01, 2007
by reid
on July 17, 2005
I'm just amazed Comcast hasn't started doing this yet. I'd say switch to OpenDNS, but, surprise, they do the same thing.
Posted by: Dan on March 16, 2008 05:50 PM